Nominations for ASPP School Psychologist of the Year . . .
Given the climate surrounding public education today, it is more important than ever to recognize those individuals who are sterling examples of what is best in our schools. Individuals who engage in best practices to support the children and families they serve. Individuals who perform their job in an exemplary manner, individuals who are respected by colleagues, parents and students for the work that they do. Help the Association of School Psychologists of Pennsylvania recognize an individual school psychologist like this!
Each year, the Association of School Psychologists of Pennsylvania recognizes one such school psychologist. We are requesting your assistance in providing nominations for ASPP School Psychologist of the Year.

Judging criteria include: provides a full range of services; performs the job in an exemplary manner; is well respected by colleagues, students, and parents; is well informed about the goals and standards of the state professional organization (ASPP); and represents school psychology well. A panel of judges reviews nomination materials, validates entries, and selects the winner each year.
Anyone can make a nomination!
The award recipient goes on to be considered for the prestigious national school psychology of the year award of the National Association of School Psychologists.
To nominate an outstanding school psychologist simply follow these three steps:
  1. Candidate Information form and the Nomination Statement are completed by you;
  2. Candidate Statement is completed by the candidate;
  3. Letters of Support, one (1) is required, up to three (3) may be submitted.
These forms can be downloaded below. Please return the completed packet to Julia Szarko either via email: or by mail:
Julia Szarko, PhD
Cold Spring Elementary
4100 Durham Road
Doylestown, PA 18902
In order for the full process to be completed in a timely manner, nomination forms should be submitted no later than September 12.
To learn more about the process, contact, Julia Szarko at (267) 893-3808 or via email:
Take a minute to recognize the best work it the field...
Julia Szarko, PhD, NCSP
Nominations and Elections Chair and Past President
Association of School Psychologists of PA
Previous winners
To view a list of the current and previous winners of the School Psychologist of the Year Award please visit our Awards page.
S.P.O.T.Y. Nomination Forms